About Us

The Minnesota Centers of Excellence for Young Children with Disabilities is the statewide professional development system for early childhood special education (ECSE). Professional Development Facilitators (PDF) in each of the state's eight economic development regions work to connect, support and empower local leaders to build capacity. Through these joint efforts, young children and their families are accessing and benefiting from high-quality programs and services throughout the state.

In some instances, the boundaries of educational districts do not align with the eight economic development regions' boundaries. In instances when a cooperative or district's boundaries are found in more than one region, the district's PDF and service region are assigned based upon the county in which a program's leader is housed.

MN COE Regions and Professional Development Facilitators

Regional map

Regions 1 & 2

PDFs: Jess Hoffman

Counties: Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Lake of the Woods, and Mahnomen


Region 3

PDF: Elizabeth Rust-Peters

Counties: Aikin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis


Region 4

PDF: Sarah King

Counties: Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin

Higher Education Consortium Member: Deanne Borgeson, Minnesota State - Moorhead


Regions 5 & 7

PDFs: Jodi Altringer | Sara Hight

Counties: Cass, Crow Wing, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena, Benton, Sherburne, Stearns, Wright, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, and Mille Lacs

Higher Education Consortium Members: JoAnn Johnson, St. Cloud State University | Jane Minnema, St. Cloud State University


Regions 6 & 8

PDF: Sara Meyer

Counties: Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, and Renville, Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac Qui Parie, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Cottonwood, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, Nobles, and Jackson


Region 9

PDF: Linda Wintz

Counties: Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, La Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan

Higher Education Consortium Member: Aaron Deris, Minnesota State University - Mankato


Region 10

PDFs: Jill Harves | Tammy Queensland

Counties: Dodge, Goodhue, Houston, Fillmore, Freeborn, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona


Region 11

PDFs: Hope Beissel | Ann MaczugaBeth Dorsey | Sally Hansen

Counties: Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington

Higher Education Consortium Members: LeAnne Johnson, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities